The last day of the year

I figured, since this is the last day of my 31st year, I would post a couple of things regarding my own daily eating and moving.

A friend of mine wants to go out tonight after work. I’m pretty sure we’re going, so, I’m planning ahead. This is a place that we go semi-regularly, and I have a pretty good idea what I’m going to eat. So, based on my knowledge of portions, as well as what I want, I plugged the numbers into fitday.com. If you go out to eat, there’s probably more calories than if you eat at home. Also, this morning, when I woke up, I was hungry. This isn’t usually the case, but since I felt actual hunger, I ate something. A pear and some cashews. Quite a few cashews, in fact. I also had some coffee with a little bit of half & half.

Around 2:30 I headed out to the gym. Squat day. I haven’t been to the gym yet this week, since I was feeling a little bit sore from my sprint session on Saturday, but I didn’t want the whole week to get away from me without lifting. So, I left home at 2:30 for the gym and got back home around 3:30. One hour, including travel. Not too bad. If you think you don’t have time, you probably don’t have a plan when you head out the door. A plan is just as important for moving as it is for eating. Tomorrow morning I’m heading back to the gym and I probably won’t stay more than 45 minutes. I’m sure the people at the gym think I’m crazy and wasting my time and money. I’m OK with them thinking that.

My calorie count for today is higher than normal, but according to the info that I’ve plugged into fitday for the month, I’m still around 1700-1800 calories per day, on average. And that’s the way you should approach this. You don’t have to be perfect every day. If you try to be, you’ll probably make yourself crazy. But, if listen to your body and do a little bit of planning, you’ll probably average out quite well and make some progress. This weekend will prove to be a test for me from a food perspective, as I have plans to go out to dinner tomorrow night with Rachel, and also on Sunday with Rachel and my family. So, a little bit of planning, and not over-doing it during the rest of the weekend is in order.

If you’re interest in my macronutrient breakdown for the day, I’ve included it below. If I feel like it, I might have a beer tonight, but as of now, I don’t feel like having a beer tonight. I’d much rather lift heavy things with ease in the morning. The breakdown looks like something that will have you making a call to your cardiologist, according to Conventional Wisdom. I’m willing to bet that’s not the case.

Post thoughts to comments.

-Nick

Leave a Reply

